

GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA BOARD FOR THE CONDEMNATION OF INSANITARY BUILDINGS

REGULAR MEETING Wednesday, March 22, 2023 Microsoft Teams Webinar 10:00 am-12:12 pm

MEETING MINUTES

Members Present	Board Members Not Present	DOB Staff Present	Other Persons Present
Peter Nyabagosi, Chair	n/a	Koleka Masimini	Craig A. Butler, Esq., Owner Representative
Donald Sullivan		Gloria Shelby	Tiffany Cone, Owner Representative
Patrick Smith		Tanzy Brown	Mike Lawler, Owner Representative
Susan Burnett		LaKeitha Johnson	Steven Sushner, Attorney, Owner Representative
Timothy Denee		Michael Byrd	Darryl & Judith Rippeteau, Community Representatives
		Theresa Hollins	Yolanda Cole, Community Representative
			Gary Ridley, Community Representative
			Ely Hurwitz, Attorney, Owner Representative
			Cherryl Neill, Owner
			Avis Woods, Owner
			Neil Rocklin
			Luisa Neira, Owner Representative
			Christine Neptune, Community Representative
			Ricardo Hendi, Owner Representative
			Joseph Johnson, Owner
			Carlos Reyes
			Tiffany Cone, Owner Representative



GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA BOARD FOR THE CONDEMNATION OF INSANITARY BUILDINGS

	Andrew Lavin, Owner
	Representative

1. Preliminary Matters

i. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Peter Nyabagosi, Board Chair, at 10:02am. Roll call of Board members and other persons present was initiated by Board Chair Peter Nyabagosi. All members and other persons present participated via Microsoft Teams webinar.

ii. Review and Adoption of Minutes of February 22, 2023, Regular Meeting

Koleka Masimini presented the meeting minutes from the March 22, 2023 Board Meeting for the Board's approval. The meeting minutes were subsequently approved unanimously upon motion made by Peter Nyabagosi and seconded by Patrick Smith. Without any objections, the minutes were adopted.

2. Old Business

BCIB Case Number	Address	Square, Suffix, Lot	Testimony Provided	BCIB Action
21-008	3644 13 th Street NW	2828-0104	Craig Butler	Board took no action, owner must render property sanitary
22-001	1414 Hemlock Street NW	2738-0023	Tiffany Cone	Board voted to refer the case to DOB to render sanitary
22-018	4633 41 st Street NW	1769-0010	Mike Lawler	Board voted to defer the case for 60 days
21-006	1416 A Street SE	1058-0089	None provided	Board previously voted to close case and remove condemnation 12/2022
12-064	4621 Kane Place NW	5154-0019	None provided	Board voted to close case and release condemnation

3. New Business

BCIB Case Number	Address	Square, Suffix, Lot	Testimony Provided	BCIB Action
23-009	30 th Street NW (wall between 1213 30th Street NW & 2929 M Street NW)		Allen Berger (written)	Board will have a closed session with council prior to May 26, 2023 meeting



GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA BOARD FOR THE CONDEMNATION OF INSANITARY BUILDINGS

BCIB Case Number	Address	Square, Suffix, Lot	Testimony Provided	BCIB Action
23-010	4404 New Hampshire Avenue NW	3247-0041	None provided	Board voted to accept the case and send Show Cause letter
23-011	1534 14 th Street NW	0209-0079	Steven Sushner Judith Rippeteau Darryl Rippeteau Yolanda Cole	Board voted to accept the case and send Show Cause letter
23-005	3228 Hiatt Place NW	2675-0803	Ely Hurwitz	Board voted to accept the case and review in 60 days
23-012	4615 Hilltop Terrace SE	5359-0268	Cherryl Neill	Board voted to accept the case

4. Administrative & Other Matters

- i. Board Members Patrick Smith and Susan Burnett left the meeting at 11:00am to attend mandatory training. Patrick Smith returned briefly from 12:07pm to 12:12pm.
- **ii.** Time was provided for members to discuss items not on the agenda.
- iii. Closed BCIB Session Chairperson is requesting closed BCIB session with DOB council prior to the May 24, 2023 meeting. If the board members are unable to meet, council will be invited to the May 24, 2023 meeting.
- iv. Next BCIB Meeting May 24, 2023

5. Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 12:12pm.

This meeting is governed by the Open Meetings Act. Please address any questions or complaints arising under this meeting to the Office of Open Government at <u>opengovoffice@dc.gov</u>.