

GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CONSTRUCTION CODES COORDINATING BOARD

REGULAR MEETING

Thursday, October 17, 2024 Video Conference Call 10:30 am-12:30 pm

Transcript of this Board meeting can be found here.

UNAPPROVED MEETING MINUTES

Board Members Present	Board Members Not Present	DOB Staff Present	Other Persons Present	
Marc Fetterman, Vice Chair	Joel Causey	LaTrease Christian	Aaron	
Matt Borger	Casey Studhalter	Helen Hooks-Scott	Max Brown, <i>Group 360</i>	
Mike Brown		Sana Sandra Karbal	John Catlett, Catlett Code Consulting	
Anthony Dale		Nicole Rogers	Lucia F.	
Ed Kaufman			Guillermo Rueda, AIA	
Gus Mehrdad			Rob Hawkins, Berlin Rosen	
Harrison Miller			Maria	
Keith Parsons			David Mallof, Ward 2 resident	
Jeff Reiss			Max	
Jason Wright			Mimi N.	
Jeff Viano			Chris Pendley, AOBA	
			Alisonya Poole, <i>DOEE</i>	
			M. Preston	
			Tasneem Islam, <i>DOEE</i>	
			Jon Tung, P.E., Field & Tung	
			Erika Wadlington, <i>DCBIA</i>	

1. Preliminary Matters

i. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Marc Fetterman, Vice Chairperson. Marc Fetterman has the role of Board Acting Chairperson because there is no Board Chairperson. Roll call of Board members and other persons present was initiated by Marc Fetterman. All members and other persons present participated via WebEx video conference.

ii. Adoption of Meeting Agenda

Marc Fetterman presented the meeting agenda for the Board's approval. A motion to adopt the meeting agenda was made by Anthony Dale and seconded by Jason Wright. Without any objections, the agenda was adopted.

iii. Review and Adoption of Minutes of July 18, 2024, Regular Meeting Marc Fetterman presented the meeting minutes from July 18, 2024, Board Meeting for the Board's approval. The meeting minutes were approved unanimously upon motion made by Michael Brown and seconded by Jeff Viano. Without any objections, the minutes were adopted.

2. Code Change Proposals for Consideration

i. No new proposals

Amendment No.	Code/Section	CCCB Presentation	Procedural History	CCCB Action & Date

3. Administrative & Other Matters

i. Chief Edward "Ed" Kauffman will replace Chief Mitchell Kannry as CCCB member representing the Office of the Fire Marshall, DC Fire EMS

ii. Election of CCCB Vice-Chair

a. Anthony Dale nominated Marc Fetterman as CCCB Vice-Chair and Jason Wright seconded the nomination. Without any objections, Marc Fetterman was elected the Vice-Chair.

iii. CCCB Private-Sector Members Renewal of Appointments by MOTA

a. The swearing in for the renewal of appointments may be held early next year.

iv. Adoption of 2023 Code Changes: Review of document by DC Agencies prior to its publication as 1st Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in *DC Register*: Mike Brown discussed items iv., v., and vi.

- a. Michael Brown explained a diagram for tracking the Construction Codes approval process.
- b. An additional Construction Codes change was approved in August and the entire document was submitted to OAG in September.
- c. Casey Studhalter is working with OAG on issues concerning the Green and Commercial Energy Codes.
- d. Next steps will be to submit the document to the Office of Policy and Legislative Affairs (OPLA) and the Executive Office of the Mayor.
- e. This graphic envisions an initial public comment period in late December or January. In February, the public comments will be sent to the CCCB and its TAGs for review.
- v. In late January 2025, CCCB needs to start working on additional amendments to the DC Construction Codes. There is a legislative mandate to have a net zero code by December 31, 2026.
- vi. By November, the Department of Buildings (DOB) should have identified someone to assist with CCCB administrative matters.

- vii. Next CCCB Regular Meeting November 21, 2024.
- 4. Comments by Board Members and Members of the Public
 - i. No additional comments were offered by Board members or by members of the public.

5. Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 10:58 am.

This meeting is governed by the Open Meetings Act. Please address any questions or complaints arising under this meeting to the Office of Open Government at opengovoffice@dc.gov.