

GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CONSTRUCTION CODES COORDINATING BOARD

Thursday, February 8, 2024 Video Conference Call 10:30 am – 12:30 pm Webex/

APPROVED SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

To view the transcript, click here

Board Members Present	Board Members Not Present	DOB Staff Present	Other Persons Present
Chris Bailey, Chair	Anthony Dale	LaTrease Christian	David Mallof
Marc Fetterman, Vice Chair	Jeff Reiss	Helen Hooks Scott	Anthony Scerbo, BEGA
Matt Borger	Jason Wright		
Michael Brown			
Joel Causey			
Mitchell Kannry			
Gus Mehrdad			
Harrison Miller			
Keith Parsons			
Casey Studhalter			
Jeff Viano			

1. Preliminary Matters

i. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Chris Bailey, Board Chair, at 10:38 a.m. Roll call of Board members and other persons present was initiated by Board Chair Christopher Bailey. All members and other persons present participated via WebEx video conference. (transcript line, 3).

ii. Adoption of Meeting Agenda

Chris Bailey presented the meeting agenda for the Board's approval. A motion to adopt the meeting agenda was made by Mitchell Kannry and seconded by Jeff Viano. Without any objections, the agenda was adopted. (transcript lines, 26).

iii. Review and Adoption of Minutes of December 21, 2023, Regular Meeting

Chris Bailey presented the meeting minutes from the December 21, 2023, Regular Meeting for the Board's approval. The meeting minutes were approved upon motion made by Joel Causey and seconded by Casey Studhalter.

Marc Fetterman had issues with the board minutes. Chris Bailey made an amendment to correct the items identified by Marc Fetterman, Joel had no objections, and the minutes were adopted with amendments. (transcript lines, 39-102).

1	

2. Code Change Proposals for Reconsideration

NONE

Amendment No.	Code/Section	CCCB Presentation	Procedural History	CCCB Action & Date

3. Administrative & Other Matters

- Administrative discussions
 - i. Vice Chairperson selections

Marc Fetterman brought to the Board's attention that Keith Parsons was not listed on the DC Register as an appointed board member. Discussion between Chris Bailey, Joel Causey, Marc Fetterman and Matt Borger. (transcript lines, 108-

Marc Fetterman is the Vice Chairperson. According to the Bylaws, Vice Chairperson is elected each September & serves a 1-vear term (transcript line 215).

The Board discussed keeping TAG Chairs consistent until the next code cycle. (transcript line, 266-299)

ii. Board member code access

a. Box

Board members were made aware of the digital record Box file system (transcript lines, 306-312).

b. ICC codes

Board members were asked to verify their access to an ICC account. Once verified new access code will be sent for premium access. (transcript lines, 266-303)

Board member emails.

Board members check their emails and log-on access to ICCsafe.org (transcript lines, 306-312).

ii. TAG Chair assignments

i. Technical Advisory Group (Draft) Chair

> a. Accessibility Jason Wright b. Administration & Enforcement Marc Fetterman

c. Building (including Swimming Pool) Jeff Reiss

d. Electrical vacant (Anthony Dale)

e. Elevator Joel Causey **Existing Buildings** Harrison Miller g. Fire & Life Safety Mitchell Kannry h. Green Construction & Energy-Commercial Casey Studhalter

Mechanical Gus Mehrdad

Matthew Borger/Keith David Parsons **Property Maintenance** k. Residential & Energy-Residential Michael Brown Structural & Special Inspections Jeffrey Viano

m. Flood Hazard Special Committee Nicholas Bonard

Majority of the Board private-sector-members terms expire in the coming months (transcript lines, 519-521). The Chair did not change the current TAG chair status and No Motion was brought to a vote to change the TAG chairs

- ii. New TAG Chairs need to verify their groups, before the next meeting.
 - a. Active Members

Make sure your TAGS have enough members (transcript lines, 628-633)

b. If new, gather resumes to present for approval.

If TAG Chairs desire new voting members, present their applications & resumes to CCCB for approval.

- c. Meeting times.
 - i. Submit to TAG meeting times for the Open DC website. Submit proposed TAG meeting dates / times to LaTrease Christian at least two days prior to meeting so that

meeting can be added to the Open DC website.

iii. Next Meeting on February 15, 2024

a. Review Approved document proposals discussion.

4. Comments by Board Members

We have a legislative requirement to come up with a Net Zero code by December 31, 2026, (transcript lines 702-714).

5. Comments by Members of the Public

A comment was made regarding Mitchell Kannry being removed as a full-voting member. Chair to verify board members registered time-limit presumed ending June 15th. (transcript lines 747 –758).

6. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 1-hour 39-min into the meeting, (transcript line 766).

This meeting is governed by the Open Meetings Act. Please address any questions or complaints arising under this meeting to the Office of Open Government at opengovoffice@dc.gov